Memorandum



DATE May 30, 2017

то Housing Committee Members: Scott Griggs, Chair, Carolyn King Arnold, Vice Chair, Mayor Pro-Tem Monica R. Alonzo, Tiffinni A. Young, Mark Clayton, and Casey Thomas, II

SUBJECT Amendment to Regional Assessment of Fair Housing

On December 14, 2016 the Dallas City Council approved an Interlocal Agreement with the University of Texas at Arlington to conduct the Regional Assessment of Fair Housing (RAFH). The City Council also authorized a Memorandum of Understanding with twenty one other jurisdictions to participate in the RAFH. Some of the jurisdictions are utilizing federal funds to pay their pro rata share of the cost of the study. The original agreement did not include specific HUD provisions that are triggered when federal funds are used. On June 14, the City Council will be asked to approve an amendment which establishes The University of Texas at Arlington as a subrecipient to the City of Dallas. The amendment will also authorize revisions to the Memorandum of Understanding and establish subrecipient relationships with the City of Dallas and the entitlement jurisdictions that are utilizing federal funds to pay their prorata share of the RAFH. Finally, the amendment will authorize the establishment of Interlocal Agreements with Public Housing Authorities who pay their pro rata share with federal funds.

Please let me know if you have questions or need additional information.

Raquel Favela, Chief

Economic Development and Neighborhood Services

c: Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council
T.C. Broadnax, City Manager
Larry Casto, City Attorney
Craig D. Kinton, City Auditor
Rosa A. Rios, City Secretary
Daniel F. Solis, Administrative Judge
Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager
Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager

Jo M. (Jody) Puckett, P.E., Assistant City Manager (Interim)
Jill A. Jordan, P.E., Assistant City Manager
Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager
M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer
Nadia Chandler Hardy, Chief of Community Services
Theresa O'Donnell, Chief of Resilience
Directors and Assistant Directors